Scout-a-palooza, or the story of a party pup.

Last Thursday’s long bike ride (THANK THE LORD) did indeed happen, although my nose was running the entire ride (annoying).

I had to work that day from 9am-1pm, so I biked to and from work (about 8-9 miles total) and then ventured out on the road all kitted up around 2pm. I ended up doing about 50 miles, which gave me a total of about 60 miles total for that day on a bike.

The ride was pretty uneventful, but I love getting out of the city and riding on hilly country roads. It makes me miss riding out on mountain roads A LOT, as I did in college…..

Anyhow- VA is pretty evil in the summertime and is extremely humid about 99% of the time, so post-ride I replenished all my lost sweat with about a half-gallon of Arnold Palmer’s sweet tea. Later, I stuffed my face with some of Kashi’s frozen stuffed pizza, and it was glorious.

Saturday, I had a couple errands to run and made the decision to literally run them all. I ended up running 10 miles total. It was only a little awkward running while carrying a bag full of Scout’s flea medicine and heartworm pills….

And-by some power of God, as SOON as I finished that last mile and was casually hobbling walking down my block to my house, it started thundering and down-pouring like crazy!!!! I was super thankful that I was so close to my house!

Luckily the rain stopped shortly! I mentioned it in my last post, but that night I was hosting a party for the first anniversary of adopting my sweet dog, Scout! The party was aptly named “Scout-A-Palooza.”  It was a hit- more people showed up for her party than any other party I’d ever hosted! Scout got balloons, treats, and a couple of (accidentally)spilled beers to lick up (she is rather obsessed with the stuff and it scares me a bit…)

I also dressed her in a pink hippo party costume.

She obviously loves the costume...

She obviously loves the costume…

Overall, her birthday was fun, and a lot of good friends enjoyed themselves! It was also amazing to spend time with the new roommates (one of them is my little sister, so not really a “new” roommate, per se). Can you tell which one is her?

New roommates!

New roommates!

Have you completed a long or hard bike ride or run recently?

If you have a dog, is it obsessed with beer/any other type of alcohol?

About kathleen228

Recent grad from James Madison University. Obsessed with all things to do with biking, mountains, bacon, and beer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scout-a-palooza, or the story of a party pup.

  1. Pingback: (Late) Weekly Workout Roundup (8/4-8/10) | The Mountain Queen

Leave a Reply

